Oliver notches his tenth premiership   Leave a comment

Oliver notches his tenth premiership

July 26, 2015 – 7:42PM

Mathew Toogood

Damien Oliver returns to scale.Damien Oliver returns to scale. Photo: Getty Images

Damien Oliver has won his 10th Melbourne jockeys’ premiership and moved to within one of equalling the record.

Oliver headed into Sunday’s season-ending metropolitan meeting at Geelong two wins in front of Craig Williams and the suspended Dwayne Dunn. He quickly got on the board to set up an unassailable lead, winning the first race on the Chris Waller-trained Sebring Sally. Williams had to win his final three rides to draw level but could  manage only one and finished on 58, two behind Oliver.

The late Roy Higgins and Bill Duncan jointly hold the Melbourne record. The medal for the premiership-winning rider was renamed the Roy Higgins Medal in honour of the champion jockey after his death last year. Oliver was the inaugural recipient after he claimed his ninth title last season and he said he was rapt to win the premiership for the 10th time.

“It’s been an exciting battle the last month or so with Dwayne and Craig, and it’s great to get it,” Oliver told Racing Live. “[Winning 10 premierships] is something I didn’t think I would ever achieve as a young jockey coming through the ranks. But to win 10, as a 43-year-old and my first one was when I was 19 – it’s been a long and successful career.”

Dunn held a two-win lead after the Flemington meeting last Saturday week but missed the final three meetings because of a careless riding suspension.

Oliver overhauled Dunn with a treble last Wednesday then added another win at Caulfield on Saturday and one at Geelong. Dunn finished three wins behind Oliver and one behind Williams.

“Both Craig and Dwayne are very competitive riders and very good riders. I think it brought the best out in all of us,” Oliver said.

Darren Weir added another two wins to his metropolitan tally in Victoria for the season, with wins to Strong Hand and Burning Front at Geelong. He has won the Victorian metropolitan trainers’ premiership for the second straight year and has edged closer to 300 wins nationwide for the season.  He has 295 wins for the season, which ends on Friday.

Patrick Moloney, with 42 wins, won the Victorian metropolitan apprentices’ title for the first time.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/horseracing/oliver-notches-his-tenth-premiership-20150726-gikxm5.html#ixzz3gzWYRJIp


Posted July 27, 2015 by belesprit09 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: