Queensland Oaks 2015: Tony Noonan looking to returning to centre stage   Leave a comment

Queensland Oaks 2015: Tony Noonan looking to returning to centre stage

Mornington trainer Tony Noonan has faded from the spotlight but believes Anaphora can put

Mornington trainer Tony Noonan has faded from the spotlight but believes Anaphora can put him back in the frame if she wins the Queensland Oaks. Picture: Peter Bull Source: News Limited

IF all goes to plan on Saturday and Anaphora wins the Queensland Oaks, trainer Tony Noonan is looking forward to being sexy again for a few moments.

“It’d be lovely to have a Group 1 win. I might be completely unsexy but in the space of two minutes I can change that around,” Noonan said.

The once regular visitor to the winner’s circle has dropped off racing’s centre stage in the past few years.

For over a decade Noonan was one of Melbourne’s leading trainers, regularly toting over 20 city winners a season.

His training highlights included a Group 1 win in the 2001 Manikato Stakes with Piavonic and he also trained Ortensia to win the 2010 Galaxy Stakes but she lost the race after a positive swab.

In a 25-year career Noonan also trained horses such as Magneto, Gunnamatta and Show No Emotion.

The Mornington trainer has faded from the spotlight though training only two city winners last season and five this season.

Three years ago Noonan reduced his team from 100 horses to 25 horses.

“I didn’t announce publicly I was doing as it. I just decided I wanted to step off the merry-go-round,” he said.

Noonan said he had 100 horses in work for 10 years and in the finish he wasn’t enjoying training.

“It’s an around the clock job, seven days a week. I made a decision to reduce my team and I couldn’t be happier since with my decision,” he said.

“I’m enjoying my racing a lot more and even though I’m not as successful, I train for good people and I’ve been getting good results.

“I know my horses better, I enjoy the company of my staff more and I know the name of the owners of all of my horses.”

Noonan also realised his age was working against him in attracting new clients.

“It’s a strange industry. When I was growing up trainers like C.S. Hayes were seen to peak at 55 years of age. I’m now 55 and I’m referred to as a veteran trainer,” he said.

Noonan believes there is a chance he’ll be back in the spotlight on Saturday.

Anaphora won at Caulfield two starts over 1600m to book the Queensland trip but Noonan was initially disappointed with her last-start fifth over 2000m also at that track behind Unfurl.

Her jockey that day Steven King though told him it was a pleasing effort and they should proceed to the Queensland Oaks

“I’m not sure she’s a Group 1 horse but she doesn’t have to be as this is in reality a restricted three-year-old fillies race,” Noonan said.

“It was always in the back of my mind and it was just a matter of whether she could get there.

“She’s a handy horse and she’s got one of Brisbane’s leading riders in Tim Bell on her.”

Winx (pictured) will certainly provide ample opposition for Tony Noonan and his promising

Winx (pictured) will certainly provide ample opposition for Tony Noonan and his promising filly Anaphora. Picture: Jerad Williams Source: News Corp Australia

$500,000 QUEENSLAND OAKS

Doomben, Saturday 3.57pm

BETTING

$2.80 WINX (out from $2.50)

$4.40 Bohemian Lily (in from $5)

$7 Sebrina

$10 Ballet Suite

$13 Ungrateful Ellen

$17 Zarzali

THE CHANCES

BALLET SUITE

Stablemate Winx is more favoured by punters but Ballet Suite’s Vinery fourth four starts back in hot company was benchmark for this race. Track too soft in ATC Oaks, strong Doomben winner last start.

WINX

Monster effort at the Sunshine Coast and has already proven herself Oaks class in Sydney.

UNGRATEFUL ELLEN

Horror story in SA last start when posted on a limb on-pace from wide alley. Great staying effort. Will stay all day, although back in trip.

BOHEMIAN LILY

Typically strong Waterhouse on-pacer. Track pattern turned bit swooperish last week here.

MATT STEWART SELECTS

BALLET SUITE 1

Winx 2

Ungrateful Ellen 3

Bohemian Lily 4

Blake Shinn and Bohemian Lily outstay their rivals last Saturday. Picture: Tara Croser

Blake Shinn and Bohemian Lily outstay their rivals last Saturday. Picture: Tara Croser Source: News Corp Australia

Posted May 29, 2015 by belesprit09 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

