James McDonald has owned the first month of the Sydney autumn carnival and will now head into the first day of The Championships full of confidence as jockeys from around the world come to town.

The 22-year-old has been riding in the best form of his career and making the difference in group 1s, winning five across the past five weeks. Having arrived from New Zealand two years ago with a big reputation, McDonald is the first to admit he took time to adjust.

“It took me a year to be comfortable but at the moment I feel like I’m seeing things before they happen. It is a good place to be for a jockey,” McDonald said.

“It is pretty good when you feel like you are going out on the number one seeds in these races – that helps your confidence as well. I have confidence from riding in the blue [of Godolphin] and want to keep kicking home winners and I know we have a good team.”