‘I don’t think I have any tears left’: Tommy Berry dedicates Golden Slipper win on Vancouver to twin   Leave a comment

‘I don’t think I have any tears left’: Tommy Berry dedicates Golden Slipper win on Vancouver to twin

Tommy Berry looks to the heavens after riding Vancouver to victory in the Golden Slipper.

Tommy Berry looks to the heavens after riding Vancouver to victory in the Golden Slipper. Picture: Mark Evans Source:News Corp Australia

TOMMY BERRY had just won his second Golden Slipper on Vancouver but his first thoughts were of his late twin, brother Nathan.

“The best moment I have ever had on a racetrack was when I celebrated the Golden Slipper win of Overreach with Nathan two years ago,’’ Berry said.

“It was an emotional day then but it is even more emotional now.’’

Nathan Berry died after contracting the rare condition, Norse Syndrome, last year. Since his passing, Tommy Berry has been inspired to continue his stellar riding career in memory of Nathan.

“I did it for Nathan today,’’ Tommy said. “But I don’t think I have any tears left.

“Even though Nathan is not here, he is still the biggest part of my life along with (fiancee) Sharnee and our son, Kaiden.

Tommy Berry rejoices after Vancouver’s Slipper win.

Tommy Berry rejoices after Vancouver’s Slipper win. Source: Getty Images

“Two years ago, I had Nathan walk the track with me before the Golden Slipper.

“Today I had to do that on my own and that was hard.

“But I’m sure Nathan was riding with me today.’’

Berry produced one of the great Golden Slipper rides when he drifted across from barrier 16 to have Vancouver settle in about sixth position, albeit three-wide but with cover, inside 400m.

When asked how he managed such a brilliant piece of horsemanship, Berry shrugged his shoulders and said: “Good luck!”

“I have been a bit arrogant when it comes to talking about Vancouver but I’ve always felt he was the best two-year-old,’’ Berry said.

Tommy Berry produced a great ride on Vancouver. Picture: Mark Evans

Tommy Berry produced a great ride on Vancouver. Picture: Mark Evans Source: News Corp Australia

“These really good horses make their own luck, so I didn’t worry about the barrier too much.

“I felt if I could give Vancouver a good ride, he would do the rest.’’

Berry had Vancouver poised to strike on the home turn and admitted he may have made his only mistake of the race when drove the colt to the front at the 250m.

“I might have got to the front a fraction too soon,’’ Berry said. “He still felt green and ran around a bit but when English challenged him, he really focused on his job.

“He dug deep and stretched his neck out. All he wanted to do was win — he is a great colt.

“I can’t wait for the Sires and Champagne Stakes now. I think he will be even better at 1400m and 1600m.’’

Originally published as ‘I don’t think I have any tears left’: Berry dedicates win to twin

Tommy Berry looks to the heavens after riding Vancouver to victory in the Golden Slipper.

Tommy Berry looks to the heavens after riding Vancouver to victory in the Golden Slipper. Picture: Mark Evans Source:News Corp Australia

TOMMY BERRY had just won his second Golden Slipper on Vancouver but his first thoughts were of his late twin, brother Nathan.

“The best moment I have ever had on a racetrack was when I celebrated the Golden Slipper win of Overreach with Nathan two years ago,’’ Berry said.

“It was an emotional day then but it is even more emotional now.’’

Nathan Berry died after contracting the rare condition, Norse Syndrome, last year. Since his passing, Tommy Berry has been inspired to continue his stellar riding career in memory of Nathan.

“I did it for Nathan today,’’ Tommy said. “But I don’t think I have any tears left.

“Even though Nathan is not here, he is still the biggest part of my life along with (fiancee) Sharnee and our son, Kaiden.

Tommy Berry rejoices after Vancouver’s Slipper win.

Tommy Berry rejoices after Vancouver’s Slipper win. Source: Getty Images

“Two years ago, I had Nathan walk the track with me before the Golden Slipper.

“Today I had to do that on my own and that was hard.

“But I’m sure Nathan was riding with me today.’’

Berry produced one of the great Golden Slipper rides when he drifted across from barrier 16 to have Vancouver settle in about sixth position, albeit three-wide but with cover, inside 400m.

When asked how he managed such a brilliant piece of horsemanship, Berry shrugged his shoulders and said: “Good luck!”

“I have been a bit arrogant when it comes to talking about Vancouver but I’ve always felt he was the best two-year-old,’’ Berry said.

Tommy Berry produced a great ride on Vancouver. Picture: Mark Evans

Tommy Berry produced a great ride on Vancouver. Picture: Mark Evans Source: News Corp Australia

“These really good horses make their own luck, so I didn’t worry about the barrier too much.

“I felt if I could give Vancouver a good ride, he would do the rest.’’

Berry had Vancouver poised to strike on the home turn and admitted he may have made his only mistake of the race when drove the colt to the front at the 250m.

“I might have got to the front a fraction too soon,’’ Berry said. “He still felt green and ran around a bit but when English challenged him, he really focused on his job.

“He dug deep and stretched his neck out. All he wanted to do was win — he is a great colt.

“I can’t wait for the Sires and Champagne Stakes now. I think he will be even better at 1400m and 1600m.’’

Originally published as ‘I don’t think I have any tears left’: Berry dedicates win to twin

Posted March 21, 2015 by belesprit09 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

